Slow Cooker Chili

Just so you know, I haven’t abandoned my new blog before I even got going!  No, I just haven’t been cooking!! But here we go, here is supper tonight for my family.  I will be eating something else, because I do not like beans.  I may just have a bologna sandwich!  Picture forthcoming, it’s cooking as we speak!

Slow-Cooker Chili
From EAT Magazine, Fall 2006

Prep 25 min.
Cook 10 hr (low) or 5 hr (high)

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs ground beef
2 (15 oz) cans red kindey beans or small red beans, rinsed and drained
2 (14.5 oz) Cans Mexican-style stewed tomatoes, undrained (I used Ro-tel Mild diced tomatoes)
1 (16 oz) jar salsa (I used Pace Mild chunky salsa)
3/4 cup chopped onion (1 large)
3/4 cup chopped green sweet pepper (1 medium)
1 clove garlic, minced
Desired toppers, such as sliced green onions, corn chips, chopped tomatoes, and/or shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

1. In a large skillet, brown ground beef, over medium heat.  Drain off fat.  Transfer meat to a 4- or 5-quart slow cooker. Add beans, tomatoes, salsa, onion, sweet pepper, and garlic to beef in slow cooker; stir to combine.

2. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 10 to 12 hours or on high-heat setting for 5 to 6 hours.  Serve chili with desired toppings.  Makes 6 servings.

I tend to make it hotter than this for my hubby and his family because they seem to be immune to hot things.  I usually use hot Pace and hot Ro-Tel tomatoes.  But, this is my family tonight so I used mild because they are weak 😉  Hubby’s family all rave about this chili so it must be good.  And the best part, it’s cheap to make!

